Crockpot Steel Cut Oatmeal

Published July 9, 2015 by Jayashiangel

Let’s talk about making the crockpot oatmeal recipe and options.
Basic Recipe
1 cup of dry steel cut oatmeal
3 cups of water—if you like creamier oatmeal add more water I usually will add 4 cups.
4 Quart Crock-pot ,I tend to use my larger 6 Quart since I usually do a double batch cook once and freeze leftover.

Grab you crockpot and grease it w/ spray oil. Dump all ingredients in crockpot and turn on high for 3 hours. Then turn off and allow to cool. If it gets too thick for you add extra water to get texture you prefer. The fill up containers and freeze.

Today I had some dehydrated apples that I would normally add to the oatmeal after reheating in the microwave before eating and then I got the idea to just add extra water 1 cup to rehydrate the apples in the crockpot when I made a batch of steel cut oatmeal to freeze.
This is my quick and the go breakfast for me at work. I have to get up and go to work very early around 130 AM. So the first thing I do grab my 2 cup glass measuring cup and boil 2 cups of water (or enough to fill thermos) then cap to heat thermos.
Then I grab which ever type of steel cut oatmeal I have already premade on my days off in my crockpot and nuke it in the micro add some milk/sugar and heat more to heat up the milk. Then dump out the boiled water from thermos and replace w/ steel cut oatmeal cap and take with me to work. Do to my work schedule it may be close to 5-6 AM before I get a chance to have breakfast and it has been hot every time. Sometimes super hot :O)

Here is some pictures :O)

20150709_Time

Dehydrated Apples

Dehydrated Apples

Using scissors diced up the apples to the size you prefer remember they will expand.

Using scissors diced up the apples to the size you prefer remember they will expand.

1 cup of Steel Cut Oatmeal

1 cup of Steel Cut Oatmeal

Grease and fill crockpot

Grease and fill crockpot

3 cups of water

3 cups of water

Old Crock-pot  cover  with lid and turn on HIGH

Old Crock-pot cover with lid and turn on HIGH

Cook for 2:45 hrs then turn off the crockpot

Allow to cool, then stir to mix up then measure out 1/2 cups into container and freeze

Allow to cool, then stir to mix up then measure out 1/2 cups into container and freeze

This is Peach Steel Cut Oatmeal ready to eat.

This is Peach Steel Cut Oatmeal ready to eat.

Thermos-add boiling water recap allow to set for 10 mins. Nuke Oatmeal and dump out the water and add the hot oatmeal and take w/ on the go

Thermos-add boiling water recap allow to set for 10 mins. Nuke Steel Cut Oatmeal and dump out the water and add the hot oatmeal and take w/ on the go

Leave a Reply

