Preemie Cocoon AKA Sleep Sack

Published July 30, 2015 by Jayashiangel

On my adventure in preemie clothes I decided that I needed to make a sleep sack aka cocoon for the parents. These little sacks can keep baby warm plus you’re not having to try and keep baby wrapped just slide baby in and tada! Perfect every time plus babies love to be swaddled and this is pretty close to that as well. The next part of the challenge was finding a good pattern and getting the right measurements so after lots of searching I found this helpful chart from Bev’s Country Cottage  

Preemie 4-5 LBS NECK TO FEET: 14.25 inches  

The sleep sack I made was 12 inches length & 6.5 inches wide as the sack yarn stretch-ability. I will be making one in newborn size as well for baby to grow into which will measure 15.5″ Length & 9.5 inch” across middle.

I used this pattern basic pattern concept from Cosy Newborn Cocoon from Laura Tegg and I modified just by changing the hook size to a G and yet again I change the stitch from half dc to single to keep baby warmer as well as I worked in the round vs doing joining’s after each row as I prefer no seam line…Thanks for sharing your nice pattern Laura…

20150729_Purple Preemie Sleep Sack 3

20150729_Purple Preemie Sleep Sack

Measurements 12 inches long

20150729_Purple Preemie Sleep Sack 2

Measurements 6.5  inches wide

One comment on “Preemie Cocoon AKA Sleep Sack

  • Leave a Reply

