Apple Crumb Cake

Published October 8, 2015 by Jayashiangel

This week was a very tight budget week yet I wanted a dessert so after surfing the net I came across a recipe from Neigborhoodfood blog… for this awesome crumb cake that sound just like what I wanted….However I was short on ingredients meaning I had to do lots of substitution to create this crumb cake but that is what baking is all about use what you got and get creative…But first I want to tell you about the cake I love this quick cake as well as my picky DD and will be making it again in the future using the changes that I made. I am thinking I could cut the recipe in half (8 x 8) so we can use the toaster oven vs the big oven during the hot Arizona summers… So I see testing this out pretty soon is in order…

So here is the recipe and my changes.

For the crumb layers:

3 cups flour->used 1 cup of wheat->1 cup of white->1 cup of ground oatmeal

1 cup brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar-skipped

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg->skipped

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, melted >1 cup of coconut oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 large (or 3 small) tart peeled and chopped –>3 gala apples

For the cake:

8 Tablespoons butter->Brummer and Brown Yogurt Butter

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup sour cream-> Dannon Plain Yogurt

2 cups flour- mixture of whole wheat/white/oatmeal

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

Baked for 1 hour vs 40 mins and I didn’t need to cover it…

Here are some pictures I took of the cake making….I missed a few shots but you get the idea…

20151007_Sprouts in Apple

Started off slicing my apples to find that my apples had started to sprout their seeds and I just knew I needed a picture of that…..Pretty wild huh?…

20151007_Batter Mix

This is the batter mix it does get very thick

20151007_Crumb Mix

Crumb Mix looks yummy too me! with all the sugar!!

20151007_Batter_Apple_Crumb

This is a shot of the batter on the bottom then the apples and then the first layer of those crumbs

20151007_Close up layer

Everyone needs a close up of those apples and crumbs

20151007_Batter Layer

This the last batter layer before I top it with that last of those crumbs had to use a spatula to spread it out it was so thick and rich!!!

20151007_Apple Crumb Cake

One Apple Crumb Cake ready to cool and eat!!!!

Leave a Reply

