Sweet Potato Bread

Published November 23, 2015 by Jayashiangel

If you’re anything like me I tend to end up cooking too much when I make various things. One of the things I always seem to cook too much of fresh baked sweet potatoes. So in search I went for recipes to use up Sweet potatoes…Wow there are lots of recipes but I narrowed in on a Sweet Potato bread is sounded interesting and good….

Plus it would be interesting for my mom as well to take to work potlucks (she always asks me to make zucchini-banana-cranberry to keep in her freezer)

So the other day I made a sweet potato but this was not just any little sweet potato it was close to 2.5 -3 pounds it was HUGE and left me with leftovers plus 2 meals of sweet potato. I used my crock-pot to cook it…no baby sitting

Crockpot Sweet Potatoe

So this bread was perfect to use up the last of it and freeze…At 6 pm I decided to whip this up as it says one hour to bake and thought perfect it can be done before bed and I can try it in the morning for breakfast…

So whipping/mixing/stirring/measuring/nuking/cracking I went and in less than 15 mins I had the bread in the toaster oven (love this invention perfect for me plus if you live in Arizona you know why toaster ovens & crock pots are our best friends)

Sweet Potato Bread I

by Mary E. Crain (Thanks for sharing this recipe online)

  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar- (I used half brown and half white)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil- ( I used coconut oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup water- (some online recipes suggest orange juice)
  • 1 cup cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (I skipped)

Combine sugar and oil; beat well. Add eggs and beat. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir flour mixture into egg mixture alternately with water. Stir in sweet potatoes and chopped nuts.

Pour batter into greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pan (or 2 small loaf pans). Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about one hour.

20151122_Sweet Potat Bread

I knew I would never be able to eat this all by myself even w/ my DD help so I sliced it and placed in on cookie sheet and placed it in the freezer for 30-45 mins to quick freeze then wrapped the pieces and placed in gallon Ziploc bag for quick snacks… or breakfast on the go..

How does it taste your going to ask right Awesome it was a little too sweet & that part can be quickly fixed and I think I would double to spices too next time..I see many batches in the future…

20151123_Sliced Sweet Potato Bread

Leave a Reply

