Chicken Tortilla Soup

Published December 17, 2015 by Jayashiangel

The other night we took my daughter out for her birthday dinner early to Outback it was our first time there. They had a nice 4 course meal for $14.99=soup/salad/entree/dessert which was pretty good deal. She tried for the first time chicken tortilla soup and really liked it trust me this is a shock since she is very picky. So I went online and looked for a recipe that looked close to what we had that night…First issue was the soup we had was thin w/ a few tomatoes so looking online all the recipes showed chunks of chicken, black beans and corn w/ lots of spices. Well I decided on one for her and I also winged it knowing that she doesn’t like spicy food so I cut the chili powder and added extra green chilies for flavor as they tend to be not as spicy and used lots of black pepper to create then spicy/heat for her since that is spicy to her . I used a mixture of this recipe and my what I had on hand to create this soup along with what I knew my daughter would eat and it came out great….

Chicken-Tortilla Soup

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 cup chopped onion- I used green onions

2 garlic cloves, minced-I used roasted cloves

1 cups shredded chicken- roto chicken meat

1 cup frozen whole-kernel corn

1/4 cup dry white wine-Skipped

1 tablespoon  jalapeño pepper-used green chilies from can

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon chili powder-used half since mine was hot chili powder

2 (32 oz) chicken broth

1 (14.5-ounce) can Rotel tomatoes, undrained

half a can of tomato paste

1 can of black beans

Sour Cream and Tortilla Chips if desired

Heated oil in a stock pot over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 2 minutes. Stir in chicken and remaining ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 1 hour. Ladle soup into bowls; top with tortilla chips and sour cream.

My DD loved this and I was able to freeze 4 containers for meal later and severed her one large bowl for dinner :O) I forgot to get a pictures but I have a few of it frozen I added the chicken at the time of serving since it was already cooked and didn’t want to over cook it…

20151217_Chicken tortilla Soup Mix

Leave a Reply

